Campaigns

Letter from Rep. André Carson (D) IN.

In a letter dated June 3, 2011 and sent out via a mass mailing to his constituents in the 7th district, Democratic Rep. André Carson addresses the high price of gas in the kick-off to his 2012 re-election bid.

Dear Friend,

As you know, Indianapolis gas prices skyrocketed above $4.00 per gallon recently and still remain high. This spike in prices has created a financial strain for families across the 7th District.

I have called upon Republican leaders in the House to stop subsidizing Big Oil and take action to bring real relief at the pump. My plan includes:

  • Eliminating Subsidies for Big Oil: The top five multi-national oil companies earned over $30 billion in profits in the first three months of this year. Yet Big Oil continues to receive billions in tax breaks. I support ending these wasteful subsidies to America’s wealthiest corporations.
  • Regulating Wall Street Speculators: Speculators on Wall Street have driven gas prices up. We must rein in these speculators and prevent their pursuit of profits from hurting the American public.
  • Investing in Alternatives: We cannot drill our way out of this problem. We must invest in renewable sources of energy like wind and solar power, as well as in technology that reduces our oil use. For example, the Democratically-led Recovery and Reinvestment Act gave $20 million to Indianapolis Power and Light to install smart meters that helped local residents reduce their energy bills and $200 million to Allison Transmission and EnerDel to develop technologies that reduce gas use in cars, trucks and buses.

Smart, long-term investments in cleaner energy will stimulate manufacturing, create high-paying jobs, and curb our reliance on foreign oil while keeping our air and water safe. With such investments, I am confident the 7th District can be a leader in green technology and create high paying jobs for generations to come.

I encourage you to visit my website at http://carson.house.gov where you can view the latest news and updates about pertinent issues and legislation important to you, or follow me on Twitter @RepAndreCarson. You may also sign up for my weekly e-newsletter The Carson Courier and receive periodic updates on my activities in Washington. As always, my staff and I are here to serve you. Please feel free to contact my office at (317) 283-6516 if I or my staff can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

André Carson, Member of Congress

Discussion

Comments are closed.

